Keyboard Painting

This is an image-intensive post. I wanted Korean-English stickers for my keyboard, but didn’t like the ones that were affordable and would be here in time for me to use for my Korean lessons. I painted my existing keyboard instead, using craft items I already owned. I didn’t want something that looked bought from a company. I wanted a fun, homemade look that would make me smile every time I sat down. You can easily paint your keyboard so it looks elegant and polished instead.

First clean the keyboard thoroughly if you don't buy a new one.

First clean the keyboard thoroughly if you don’t buy a new one.

First clean the keyboard thoroughly if you don't buy a new one.

First clean the keyboard thoroughly if you don’t buy a new one.

I used a paint brush for everything. Some people use spray primer, paints and sealer. I prefer the feel of brushing. I’m sure there’s no special quality level inherent to either method, just preference and style.

I primed the keys with Behr Ultra Antique Tin Flat Paint+Primer in one.

I primed the keys with Behr Ultra Antique Tin Flat Paint+Primer in one.

I primed the keys with Behr Ultra Antique Tin Flat Paint+Primer in one.

I primed the keys with Behr Ultra Antique Tin Flat Paint+Primer in one.

I then painted the keys with my 3 base colors in my chosen pattern. All are Behr Ultra Flat Paint+Primer. Light is French Silver, Medium is Dark Pewter and Darkest is Pencil Point.

I then painted the keys with my 3 base colors in my chosen pattern. All are Behr Ultra Flat Paint+Primer. Light is French Silver, Medium is Dark Pewter and Darkest is Pencil Point.

I then painted the keys with my 3 base colors in my chosen pattern. All are Behr Ultra Flat Paint+Primer. Light is French Silver, Medium is Dark Pewter and Darkest is Pencil Point.

I then painted the keys with my 3 base colors in my chosen pattern. All are Behr Ultra Flat Paint+Primer. Light is French Silver, Medium is Dark Pewter and Darkest is Pencil Point.

I then painted the keys with my 3 base colors in my chosen pattern. All are Behr Ultra Flat Paint+Primer. Light is French Silver, Medium is Dark Pewter and Darkest is Pencil Point.

I then painted the keys with my 3 base colors in my chosen pattern. All are Behr Ultra Flat Paint+Primer. Light is French Silver, Medium is Dark Pewter and Darkest is Pencil Point.

I then painted the keys with my 3 base colors in my chosen pattern. All are Behr Ultra Flat Paint+Primer. Light is French Silver, Medium is Dark Pewter and Darkest is Pencil Point.

I then painted the keys with my 3 base colors in my chosen pattern. All are Behr Ultra Flat Paint+Primer. Light is French Silver, Medium is Dark Pewter and Darkest is Pencil Point.

Some of the items I used were sparkle gel pens, homemade sticker creator (Draw anything you want and then run it through the little machine and have a good-quality sticker.), Behr paint samples in the colors I want to use in my kitchen, Citadel pot paints manufactured specifically for use in painting miniature armies for Citadel tabletop gaming, fingernail stickers and my imaginative patience.

Lily peeking out from her safe spot while I'm painting.

Lily peeking out from her safe spot while I’m painting.

I carefully attached my designs to each of the keys and keyboard base.

I carefully attached my designs to each of the keys and keyboard base.

I carefully attached my designs to each of the keys and keyboard base.

I carefully attached my designs to each of the keys and keyboard base.

I carefully attached my designs to each of the keys and keyboard base.

I carefully attached my designs to each of the keys and keyboard base.

I used my acrylic paints to finish decorating my designs and give it a fun, artsy look.

I used my acrylic paints to finish decorating my designs and give it a fun, artsy look.

I used my acrylic paints to finish decorating my designs and give it a fun, artsy look.

I used my acrylic paints to finish decorating my designs and give it a fun, artsy look.

I used the online keyboard to get important stuff done on the computer, but mostly just stayed off while I finished my keyboard. I’m very grateful for a smartphone. 🙂

I began the process of many coats of Minwax Polycrylic Clear Satin sealant in between hours and hours of drying time.

I began the process of many coats of Minwax Polycrylic Clear Satin sealant in between hours and hours of drying time.

I began the process of many coats of Minwax Polycrylic Clear Satin sealant in between hours and hours of drying time.

I began the process of many coats of Minwax Polycrylic Clear Satin sealant in between hours and hours of drying time.

I began the process of many coats of Minwax Polycrylic Clear Satin sealant in between hours and hours of drying time.

I began the process of many coats of Minwax Polycrylic Clear Satin sealant in between hours and hours of drying time.

I was amused that whenever I set my Sisters of Battle miniatures out to choose which to paint, it always looked like they were marching upon my keyboard in force.

Keyboard finished. Next paint project: Warhammer 40,000 Sisters of Battle miniature army. :)

Keyboard finished. Next paint project: Warhammer 40,000 Sisters of Battle miniature army. 🙂

Keyboard finished. Next paint project: Warhammer 40,000 Sisters of Battle miniature army. :)

Keyboard finished. Next paint project: Warhammer 40,000 Sisters of Battle miniature army. 🙂

I’m sorry this post took so long to put up. Thank you for being patient and hope it inspired you to do something fun. 🙂

One thought on “Keyboard Painting

  1. Oh what a cool idea!! I’m never thought of trying to customise my keyboard but this looks like heaps of fun!! And = nifty keyboard at the end. Win win win.

    Can’t wait to see your Sisters of Battle!! Take progress pics! 😀

Leave a Reply

