A Truly Jarring Salad *wink*

Mr. Pearbuckle and I eat salads often. His time distribution at work has made assembling a salad for lunch too time consuming. We’ve tried many different methods to make it easier for him to eat a good, healthy salad without stress. This is the best method we’ve found so far: the “Salad-in-a-Jar”. I’ve included the sources we used when first finding and then researching this method. There is A LOT of wonderful information in them I don’t share here. This is just my latest experience with it.

Unsealed jars of chopped Romaine lettuce.

These jars are between a pint and quart in size. There’s only Romaine lettuce in them.

You can use any glass jar with a screw-on lid or a standard canning jar like I did. I have an assortment of both. I happened to have this set of jars set aside for future canning so happily converted them to Salad Jars.

Just sterilize the tack and pop it through the lid.

Just sterilize the tack and pop it through the lid.

I had no problems popping the thumbtack right through any of my lids, even the thicker metal ones that come on jelly and condiment jars.

The various items in my jarring kit.

The various items in my jarring kit.

I bought the Ziploc vacuum pump from Ingles on Aisle 13 for under $5.00. Walmart had an electric hand vacuum for $20.00. Food Saver and other electric food vacuumers are easily $50 to $300. One blogger even uses a chamber vacuum sealer. I was so happily surprised to know I didn’t need anything electric or attachments.

The pens and paper are for labeling the date sealed on the jars. I have arthritis so use those round hand grippers for everything everywhere when a grip is needed.

Just a 1/2 inch (1.3 cm) right over the hole, VERY LOOSE! Don't press it anywhere.

Just a 1/2 inch (1.3 cm) right over the hole, VERY LOOSE! Don’t press it anywhere.

Electrical tape is rubber so makes a fantastic air-tight seal. Smaller jars are great for fresh chopped onions, etc … It isn’t just that the food “lasts longer” in the fridge. They keep that “first day opened” taste too. I have other ways that lettuce lasts just fine. The taste changes each day until it turns. The jars change that.

I give about 20 pumps personally. If you aren't sure, just pop the lid back off and do it again. It's more important to get a perfect seal than save on tape.

I give about 20 pumps.

If you aren’t sure, just *pop* the lid back off and do it again. If it just comes off with no *pop*, you didn’t pump enough. It’s more important to get a perfect seal than save on tape.

You can pack even more lettuce in than I did in these jars.

You can pack even more lettuce than shown in these jars.

I doubt there’s another method easier than this. If I want just half a salad, I pop one jar open, pour out what I want, pop another 1/2″ of tape over the hole and pump it right back into a sealed state. It will keep as though I never opened it. So much love for this!

Resources for more information on this:

(Note: Most of these use the electric method in their posts. You can do all of it with the $5 Ziploc handpump & electric tape method instead.)

Rick Kasguma’s blog

A post on sealing veggies instead of just lettuce.

Paula Rhodes’s blog

The first post I ever read about salad in a jar.

A post on why you should keep lettuce with lettuce and veggies with veggies.

The post that convinced me to give this a try. 🙂

There are other sites out there that talk about it. These were my favorites. I highly encourage reading so hope you dig in and have fun!

Leave a Reply

