Sew Happy Date Weekend

JC was off Friday, which has completely thrown us off. We spent yesterday watching Fullmetal Alchemist while I either sewed or played Sims 3. Today we went on a really romantic date (lunch out, checking new video games and a spell in a bookstore before coming home and playing … a lot). We then realized we had a whole day still to come before either of us has to work.

I love to learn. I prefer lessons in both verbal and written with results on a customizable schedule. I get a bit of a high whenever I start a new craft or trade. Most of the time, that high wears off and leaves me with onerous expectations from a teacher who doesn’t realize I have one foot out the door. My goal has been to find something that combines creativity, practicality, service and possible money production that keeps the fun.

I didn’t expect to enjoy sewing. I started it for the practical reason of keeping the clothes we have usable and making new clothes at a lower rate than I’d pay in the store. I figured I’d have to grunt my way through the learning and it would just be part of my life duties. I had no idea I’d love it, be inspired with every breath and be able to draw on so many skills I have from previous learning experiences.

Darna, my Brother sewing machine

Darna, my Brother sewing machine

My brother, Tommi, got me my first sewing machine. I named her Darna, inspired by the sock darning plate she came with and my crafty friend, Lorna Carrie.

Safety Ward.

Safety Ward.

I immediately started hemming my husband’s work pants. This was an experience by itself. I had to learn to sew mostly straight lines, regardless of the stitch. My initial high took me through that part … and didn’t go away.

My first hem.

My first hem.

JC with newly hemmed work pants.

JC with newly hemmed work pants.

He needed them long enough to hit his shoes just right, heel length with no shoes on. πŸ™‚

I learned not all thread is the same. I had to go to a little sewing store called KiwiQuilts in order to find thread that matched his khaki pants. It matches perfectly. I’m thinking of keeping a swatch book that has a swatch of fabric and some thread ends with the info on fabric/thread type, brand and color number or whatever as I discover favorites.

I made my own pincushion using on of my small canning jars, some cotton balls and leftover fabric from my favorite bra. It died, but I just couldn’t throw it out before finding a way to recycle the fun print on it. My next sewing notion project is definitely a machine cover, but haven’t decided on a design yet.

Dice Jar pincushion

Dice Jar pincushion

There are so many possibilities and applications that are both practical and fun, I’m amazed I didn’t check this out before. My husband’s certainly enjoying the possible money savings and future tailoring options as I level up. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

