Pumpkin Coconut Crumble

I have a little house. I love it; but it is small.

My front door and bedroom door.

My small, but cozy living room.

I heard some people grumbling about having one counter and needing to spread out ingredients. I have three counters and one island. I used one counter for this dish, just to see if I could. I agree that one counter is rough to go with.

The ingredients stacked on the counter.

One counter to rule them all! ::wink:: Yes, I’m a geek. 🙂

I craved pumpkin today and had some in my pantry so whipped this up. It was totally an experiment, but turned out pretty well.

 

 

 

 

 

Mixing the pumpkin and coconut milk.

Since the pumpkin was pre-cooked, I just added coconut milk.

 

I had a can of pre-cooked pumpkin mix. It required you to add evaporated milk and eggs before cooking in a deep dish pastry crust until turned into a traditional pumpkin pie. I didn’t really feel like doing all that.

I grabbed a can of coconut milk, stirred it all together and popped together a crumble crust instead.

It’s from The Blooming Platter’s Betty DiJulio ( http://thebloomingplatter.blogspot.com ) — the same one I used in the Cranberry Crunch. I will use this crust over and over. It’s totally versatile.

1/2 cup vegan butter (melted)

1 cup brown sugar (packed)

1 cup all-purpose flour (I use organic, unbleached all-purpose flour.)

1 cup oatmeal (I use rolled oats, uncooked. They soften fine with the juice of whatever fruit filling I use.)

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

Preheat oven: 350 degrees.

Bake: 30 minutes or until top is lightly browned.

Mix everything together with fork.

Spoon half into baking dish.

Pour filling over until covers.

Spoon other half of mixture over filling.

Uncooked pumpkin coconut crumble.

Ready to bake.

It was really nice when I heard the beeps of the preheat finishing. I don’t think I’ll only use one counter again unless I have no choice.

baked pumpkin coconut crumble

Cooling before serving.

It was great. 🙂 Firm, but not tough. Sweet, but not too sweet.

The crust was perfect as always.

Leave a Reply

