Warm Veggie Soup

I baked a spicy, savory bread…a bit too spicy. A creamy soup seemed to be the best remedy.

A. Pearbuckle’s Winter Soup (in a hurry!)

16oz black-eyed peas (prepared)

1 /2 cup snap peas (chopped)

2 cups tomatoes (diced)

2 cloves garlic (minced)

1/4 cup onion (chopped)

1/2 cup peppers (I used a mix of red, bell and banana peppers.)

1/4 cup spinach (minced)

1 cup vegan milk

2 TB Rosemary, Thyme, Basil, Oregano, Black Pepper in whatever proportion you like

Unbleached Sea Salt to taste

I put the tomatoes, milk, spices in a medium saucepan to warm the milk a bit. Everything else followed in no particular order.

I suggest stirring occasionally, but it will come to a nice steamy warmth on its own without help if you need to leave it for a bit. This makes it a nice background dish while you work on dessert or finish a side dish. If you don’t stir, it will form a film on top when done. Just stir it into the soup. It won’t hurt you. (Yes, I’ve had this conversation before. 🙂 )

The ingredients in the pot.

I popped just about everything in and then thought about taking a pic.

Not quite down, but softening and combining.

I love the smell of veggies warming and getting along.

My serving in my Blue Willow mug--awesome for soup or coffee.

Mmm! Warm soupy goodness, just waiting for spicy bread to be dipped in it. 🙂

The bread isn’t pretty so isn’t pictured, but tastes amazing. I just received a bread machine, but am still a fan of the bread mixes from Tastefully Simple at http://www.tastefullysimple.com/Cultures/en-US. I mixed minced spinach, Italian Seasoning, some leftover salt-free vegan seasoning and cracked red pepper into the mix.

I collect Blue Willow chinaware. Let me know if you also collect. I have some extra pieces and would love to trade with another collector.

Now, I’m off to eat!

Leave a Reply

