Fun Day!

I spent today with family. This past year was really hard on family relations for me. I’m glad this one is starting strong in that area.

I saw Avatar in 3D! This may not seem strange since nearly everyone has seen it now (awesome movie!). It was special for me. It was the first time I truly saw any movie in 3D. Oh, I sat in a movie row with some cardboard glasses that swore I was experiencing 3D, but … no. You have to have depth perception to see things in 3D. I didn’t have depth perception until I bought my latest pair of eyeglasses from LensCrafters.

I received my first pair of glasses just after I turned 15 years old. I was informed I was “slightly nearsighted.” When I went to LensCrafters, the hot, sassy and slightly psycho doctor finished the exam and asked me what I was thinking, frame-wise. I said, “Well, I’m just slightly nearsighted, so …” She smiled and said, “You’re so cute when you say that.”

I’m not near sighted. I have an astigmatism that was undiagnosed for nearly 15 years (I’m 31 years of age now.) that she corrected with this pair of eyeglasses. My left eyeball is shaped like a football.

I saw a sunset behind trees. My mom stared at the stunning colors. I stared at the tree shapes against the stunning colors … and the fact I could tell some were behind the others “just because” rather than by analyzing shadows and light patterns on the 2D image life had always been for me. It was an awe-inspiring experience for me.

A toast to LensCrafters in general and my doc specifically. She gave me depth perception. I owe her a beer.

I saw Avatar in 3D. Wow.

Leave a Reply

